This will be the first World Cup held in the Arab world and the second World cup held entirely in Asia after the 2002 tournament in South Korea and Japan. In addition, the tournament will be the last to involve 32 teams, with an increase to 48 teams scheduled for the 2026 tournament in the United States, Mexico, and Canada. 

The accusations of crime have been made relating to how Qatar won the right to host the event. 

Host Selection

The bidding procedure to host the 2018 and 2022 FIFA World Cup began in January 2009, and the national association had until 2 February 2009 to register its interest. Originally, eleven bids were rejected by FIFA in February 2010 after the Indonesian Football Association failed to submit a letter of Indonesian coregistration guarantee to support the bid.

Indonesian officials had not ruled out a bid for the 2026 FIFA World Cup until Qatar was awarded the 2022 tournament. During the bidding process, all non-UEFA nations gradually withdrew their 2018 bids, guaranteeing that a UEFA nation would host the 2018 tournament, thereby making UEFA nations ineligible for the 2022 bid.

In the end, there were five bids for the 2022 FIFA World Cup: Australia, Japan, Qatar, South Korea, and the United States. The twenty-two-member FIFA Executive Committee convened in Zürich on 2 December 2010 to vote to select the hosts of both tournaments. The decision to host the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, which was awarded as having “high operation risk,” is generation critical by media commentators. Two FIFA Executive Committee members were suspended before the vote about votes.

2022 FIFA bidding ( Majority 12 Votes)

Round 1Round 2Round 3Round 4
United 3568
South Korea 455Eliminated
Japan 32Eliminated
Australia 1Eliminated

There have been bribery and corruption in the selection process involving FIFA’s executive committee members. 

Qatar is the smallest nation by area ever to have been awarded a FIFA World Cup – the next smallest by area is Switzerland, host of the 1954 FIFA World Cup, which is more than three times as large as Qatar and only needed to host 16 teams instead of the current 32.


FIFA’s six Continental Confederations organize their qualifying competitions. All FIFA member associations, of which there are currently 211, were eligible to enter qualification. Nevertheless, the AFC obliged Qatar to participate in the Asian qualifying stage as the first two rounds also qualify for the 2023 AFC Asian Cup.

North Korea withdrew from the qualifying round due to safety concerns related to the COVID-19 pandemic. American Samoa and Samoa both withdrew before the OFC draw. Tonga withdrew after the 2022 Hunga Tonga- Hunga Ha’apai eruption and tsunami. Due to COVID-19 outbreaks in their squads, Vanuatu and Cook Islands withdrew because of the travel restrictions. 

Four-time world champion and reigning European Champions Italy failed to qualify for a second successive World Cup for the first time in their history, losing in the qualification play-off semi-finals. The Italians were the only former champion that failed to qualify. Italy are also the fourth team to have failed to qualify for the upcoming World Cup, having won the previous UEFA Europen Championship, after Czechoslovakia in 1978, Denmark in 1994, and Greece in 2006.

The previous World Cup hosts, Russia, were disqualified from competing due to the Russian invasion of Ukraine. Chile’s 2015 and 2016 Copa América winners also failed to qualify for the second consecutive time. Nigeria went out to Ghana on away goals in CAF’s final playoff round, having qualified for the previous three World Cups and six out of the last seven Egypt, Panama, Colombia, Peru, Iceland, and Sweden, all of whom qualified for the 2018 World Cup, also did not qualify for 2022.


The final draw was held at the Doha Exhibition and Convention Centre in Doha. Qatar, on 1 April 2022, 19:00 AST, before the completion of the qualification.

The 32 teams were allocated into four pots for the draw based on the FIFA Men’s World Ranking of 31 March 2022. Pot one contained the hosts Qatar (automatically assigned to position A1) and the best seven terms. Pot two contained the next best eight teams, with the next best eight teams into pot 3; pot 4 contained the five lowest-ranked teams, along with the placeholders for the two inter-confederation play-off winners and the UEFA Path A play-off winner.

Pot 1Pot 2Pot 3Pot 4
🇶🇦 Qatar (51) (hosts)
🇧🇷 Brazil (1)
🇧🇪 Belgium(2)
🇫🇷 France (3)
🇦🇷 Argentina (4)
🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 England (5)
🇪🇸 Spain (7)
🇵🇹  Portugal (8)
🇲🇽 Mexico (9)
🇳🇱 Netherlands (10)
 🇩🇰 Denmark (11)
🇩🇪 Germany (12)
 🇺🇾 Uruguay (13)
🇨🇭 Switzerland (14)
 🇺🇸 United States (15)
🇭🇷 Croatia (16)
🇸🇳  Senegal (20)
🇮🇷 Iran (21)
 🇯🇵 Japan (23)
🇲🇦  Morocco (24)
🇷🇸 Serbia (25)
🇵🇱 Poland (26)
 🇰🇷 South Korea (29)
🇹🇳 Tunisia (35)
🇨🇲 Cameroon (37)
🇨🇦 Canada (38)
🇪🇨 Ecuador (46)
🇸🇦  Saudi Arabia (49)
🇬🇭 Ghana (60)
🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿  Wales (18)
🇨🇷 Costa Rica (31)
 🇦🇺  Australia (42)


Many countries participate in the FIFA World Cup tournament, like Germany, Uruguay, Netherlands, Morocco, the United States, Tunisia, Japan, and Iran. This tournament engages in November of every year; In the end, there were five bids for the 2022 FIFA World Cup: Australia, Japan, Qatar, South Korea, and the United States. The twenty-two-member FIFA Executive Committee convened in Zürich on 2 December 2010 to vote to select the hosts of both tournaments.