Hinduism is a caste system in India that has prevailed over the years. People articulate their faith in temples with religious practices and beliefs. People can learn about Hinduism online through sacred texts and other sources.

Hinduism has a significant impact on the way people think, function, create perceptions and deal with different situations in life. In today’s date, Hinduism has about nine million followers and is the highest followed religion after Christianity and Islam.

It is essential to realise that no one person pioneered this faith, and if one wishes to acquire more knowledge in this field, they will have to refer to different places. hindu holy books play a crucial role in enlightening people. These are sacred writings known as the Vedas and date back to 1500 B.C.

The Vedas contain a concoction of rhymes and verses that were written in Sanskrit by sages. The Hindu holy books also have symbols that people decipher to understand their meaning.

A prolific example of Hindu symbols is the Swastika. Indians use it as a sign of good fortune. People draw this mark around temples, auspicious places, or their newly bought homes, cars, and other merchandise.


The holy books comprise:

  1. Rig Veda

Veda is a Sanskrit word and translates to knowledge. It is one of the oldest Vedic texts and was written around 1500-1000 B.C.E. The book is a collection of 10 other books containing 1028 hymns and 10,600 verses. The earlier versions depict cosmology and glorify the deity.

The newer books shed light on charity, society and the nature of the universe. Ten rishis (saints) came together to curate the Rig Veda. They include Samhitas, Brahmanas, Aryankas and the Upanishads.

  1. Samhitas

Samhitas comprises the oldest section of the Rig Veda, which revolves around hymns for different gods.

  • Brahmanas

Brahmanas pertains to commentaries for these hymns.

  • Aryankas

Aryankas is also called forest books. It pertains to ritual sacrifice.

  • Upanishads

Upanishads bear the other rhymes of religious text.

2) Samaveda

It is a connection of melodies and chants that are musical.

3)  Yajurveda

“Yajur” means to worship, and “Veda” means knowledge. The text gives an in-depth description of how families and priests must perform Hindu ceremonies.

4) Atharva Veda

Atharva Veda contains magical formulas and information about rituals like marriage and funerals.


  1. Hinduism is an overarching religion that covers numerous aspects of life. It not only pertains to faith but also how people must function in life.
  • Most Hindus recognize one god but might worship several.
  • The holy books talk about life, death, and reincarnation of life. Hindus deeply believe in these cycles.
  • Hindus also believe in Moksha or salvation. It terminates the cycle of multiple rebirths and finally relieves a person’s soul.
  • People are also led to believe that their current life directly consequences their actions in their previous life.
  • Hindus try to live life according to the books, with honor and morality.
  • Hindus are primarily vegetarians and do not believe in sacrificing animals for their benefit. They also worship cows.


These days one can find this information online as well. Many forms contain data about Hinduism.